Week 2 Update

Well, while the update for Week #2 is a bit less exciting than that from Week #1, it makes the progress done no less exciting. Once again, our family stepped up to help in a huge way, which has made all the difference.

  1. All the trim is officially off the walls, windows, and doors. All nails are out of nearly all of it (just a couple rooms upstairs to finish up tonight), and we all have claws for hands from prying using channel locks, hammers, whatever we could find, really. So don’t wave hello to any of us for a while… we can’t open our hands to wave back. I am typing this with my nose.
  2. Anyway, we got all that trim that is done loaded out of the house and onto a trailer yesterday. So that’s HUGE! No more jumping over trim all over the house. Also, having the trim out makes the inside of the house look for real creepy. Sidenote: we have removed trim to save it and clean it and put it back up. Not to get rid of it. That would be a crime!! So it will be stored off-site and then reinstalled later. Because it’s gorgeous.ย ย 
  3. Carpet and pad removed from the stairway. More on that below.ย 
  4. Dad and Aaron (and others) have been busy busy outside clearing away trees and brush and buildings and all kinds of stuff. What this means is we have a clear space all the way around the house. You have no idea how big of a deal this is. One of the biggest parts of this project was the massive silver maple that sat RIGHT next to the house. We had quotes from tree removal services for $1000-$3500 to remove it, but with a couple chainsaws and the high hoe, Lumberjack Aaron and Lumberjack Bill were able to drop the tree perfectly! It was quite the production, and thank goodness they were very safe about it and everything went smoothly. And now Aaron can take me on a vacation with all the money we saved!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ By the way, I have the dullest 8.5 minute video you’ve ever seen of the tree removal process. I’m feeling that, other than the tree drop at the end and Mom & my colorful commentary, it’s probably not worth uploading… So here are some pictures instead!
    Before. Notice the massive tree’s proximity to the house.
    The tree is down!

    And now she’s all hauled away. Wide open spaces!

Next up?

  • Removing the door frames and doors
  • Caaaaarefully removing the built-in to save and re-install laterย 
  • Do something with the stairway. We think we need to somehow remove or protect the banister, stairs, treads, trim, etc. when we do plaster demolition, but we aren’t 100% sure how to go about that yet.
  • Taking off the porch on the south side of the house and the little addition on the north side of the house. Both will ultimately be rebuilt, but they are in rough condition and aren’t even very well attached to the house. So they gotta go.
  • After the addition comes down, they’ll be able to dig out the root of the big ol tree they just lumberjacked down.
  • Finding the piano a new home – if you have any thoughts on who might be interested in a free piano, leave it in the comments!ย 
  • And then starts the plaster demo! It feels like we are further away from that step than we really are. Just because there are a lot of bullet points before this one doesn’t mean this isn’t the next BIG step to take. Eek!

Thanks for following along. Stay tuned for more updates, and cross your fingers that the built-in comes out easily…

10 thoughts on “Week 2 Update

  1. Hi! I grew up on a farm about a mile south of your new property and my grandmother was friends with Lucille Brown (name?) who used to live in the house you’re currently renovating. I’m going to follow your blog because I’ve always wanted to see what that house looked like– she was a recluse of sorts and I never got to see it! In fact, I used to ask my grandmother to take me over there, but she insisted the lady who lived there got really nervous about people coming over. So excited to watch your progress! I also have an old home in Tennessee and if you want to follow along, that would be wonderful. My folks are still on our old farm, so who knows, maybe we’ll meet someday! (end weird, slightly stalkery comment from a complete stranger, sorry!) ๐Ÿ™‚ worthdoingblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goshhhhhh how awesome?! The Internet is such a crazy place!! Who are your parents??? I grew up right by the place we just bought as well. Next time you come back up, let me know and come over!!!

      Like

      • My grandmother and grandfather were Noel and Jewel Shoemaker. They lived on the road by the Sadorus Sportsman Club. Their house was torn down this summer, but it was also an old property. Basically, I just have to come snoop in your house. Simple as that. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m excited for you– that house was very much like the Addams Family Mansion in my head– full of mysteries! I’ve been hoping someone would renovate it literally my whole life.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes!! I know that house and I certainly know your grandparents’ names. Wow. What a small world. Consider the house fully snoop-able anytime!! I’m already digging your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

